So far in this online course we have looked at how the position in your tower and the click price of the adverts is determined by Google. Now, we'll look at how this generates earnings for you and how it affects your eCPM numbers in your Adsense reports.
The income you get from the tower block is the sum of all the values of each click, less Google's share. That is, it is calculated using the following formula:
Earnings = Click1 Cost + Click2 Cost + Click3 Cost +(...etc) - Google's ShareTo illustrate how this appears in your Adsense Report, let us suppose that:
In this example, your earnings are:
| Earnings | = ( 0.34 + 0.13 ) * 70 / 100 |
| = .47 x .7 | |
| = .329 | |
| = (rounded to .33) |
Your eCPM is a derived number: the rate of earnings per thousand impressions. It is calculated as:
eCPM = 1000 x Earnings / ImpressionsIn this example, your eCPM is:
| eCPM | = 1000 x 0.33 / 50 |
| = 20 x .33 | |
| = 6.60 |
Your Adsense report statistics would therefore look like this:
| Page impressions | Clicks | Page CTR | Page eCPM | Earnings | |
| AdSense for content | 50 | 2 | 4.00% | $6.60 | $0.33 |
If you want further explanation of these numbers, read our Adsense Report Explanation. If you understand the report figures already, then skip to the next article on the use of Adsense statistics to analyse page and site performance.